GoFundMe Gone

Michele Mashburn
2 min readJun 12, 2022

--

I have shifted my GoFundMe (link embedded) fundraiser to GiveButter (direct link embedded) because fees stink! I need extra support until I can get a full-time job that will support me adequately. I am looking toward October 2022 to have a full-time job. So I will post regular monthly updates and others as needed. If you want to stay updated and are unable to donate at this time, please subscribe to this blog or follow me on Social Media (Facebook or Twitter).

The text below is what I put on the Give Butter page (Link). Please donate or share the campaign if you are able.

A screenshot of the GiveButter page with the Meet Michele video visible. Support Michele: Being disabled is expensive with a pink donate button on the right.
Screenshot of the GiveButter page: https://givebutter.com/QNWkKe

COVID-19 has been hard on everyone with a disproportionate impact on any disabled people, especially those more marginalized by society than others. People with disabilities are twice as likely to be at the poverty level in the US and are 1/3 more likely to experience food insecurity. Employment options can be limited for disabled people and very complicated to get employment. It become necessary to purchase a wheelchair accessible vehicle during the pandemic in order to survive.

In 2021, my mother and I started a campaign to get support in our purchase of a wheelchair accessible van. The van was financed with a $15,000 down payment. This resulted in a loan for over $40,000. Monthly payments are around $530 with insurance at $210 per month. Then my mother died in October and this changed a lot of my life.

Shifting from a 2-income family down to 1 has been a huge shift. The interesting thing about comfort is you do not realize when it is happening.

As I look for full-time work and while I am transitioning away from the organization where I have worked since 2016, I need community support. When I look at my monthly expenses, I am not able to comfortably cover gas, food, and any extra medical needs not covered by insurance. I need to supplement my budget by $300–500 per month in order to more comfortably cover additional essential needs like gas, food, and so on.

I have shifted from the other site to this one as this one may have more flexibility on fees and charges but there are likely some charges that will come out of your support. I will be sending one last notice out to the other site and then be on this site and continue to use my Venmo as needed.

One way to build back better is to support others in our local and virtual communities. Please support if you have extra and share if you are unable to support. I am also willing to do a cash trade for short-term gigs.

Thanks to everyone!

--

--

Michele Mashburn

Disability Advocate, Educator, & Activist * Cat Lover * Opinions are mine